PIA01341: Solar System Montage (Updated)
 Product Size:  2000 x 2445 pixels (w x h)
 Produced By:  JPL
 Producer ID:  P50224AC
 Addition Date:  1999-05-03
 Full-Res TIFF:  PIA01341.tif (4.618 MB)
 Full-Res JPEG:  PIA01341.jpg (206.1 kB)

Click on the image above to download a moderately sized image in JPEG format (possibly reduced in size from original)

Original Caption Released with Image:

This is a montage of planetary images taken by spacecraft managed by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, CA. Included are (from top to bottom) images of Mercury, Venus, Earth (and Moon), Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. The spacecraft responsible for these images are as follows:

  • the Mercury image was taken by Mariner 10,
  • the Venus image by Magellan,
  • the Earth image by Galileo,
  • the Mars image by Viking, and
  • the Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune images by Voyager.
  • Pluto is not shown as no spacecraft has yet visited it.

The inner planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Moon, and Mars) are roughly to scale to each other; the outer planets (Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune) are roughly to scale to each other. PIA00545 is the same montage with Neptune shown larger in the foreground. Actual diameters are given below:

  • Sun 1,390,000 km
  • Mercury 4,879 km
  • Venus 12,104 km
  • Earth 12,756 km
  • Moon 3,475 km
  • Mars 6,794 km
  • Jupiter 142.984 km
  • Saturn 120,536 km
  • Uranus 51,118 km
  • Neptune 49,528 km
  • Pluto 2,390 km

For more information on the Planets, a good place to start is the Planets section of the NASA Solar System Exploration Home Page at http://solarsystem.nasa.gov/planets/index.cfm.

Photojournal Note: In 2006 the International Astronomical Union (IA) reclassified Pluto as a dwarf planet. Pluto is no longer considered the ninth planet of our solar system.

Image Credit:

Image Addition Date: