PIA16737: Asteroid 2012 DA14 as Seen from Siding Spring, Australia
Target Name: Asteroid
Is a satellite of: Sol (our sun)
Mission: Siding Spring Observatory
Product Size: 383 x 710 pixels (width x height)
Full-Res TIFF: PIA16737.tif (272.4 kB)
Full-Res JPEG: PIA16737.jpg (26.25 kB)

Click on image above for all movie download options

Original Caption Released with Image:

animation for PIA16737
Click on the image for the animation

This animated set of images, from the telescope known as the iTelescope.net Siding Spring Observatory, shows asteroid 2012 DA14 as the streak moving from top to bottom in the field of view. The images were taken around 9:40 a.m. PST (12:40 p.m. EST, or 17:40 UTC) on Feb. 15, 2013.

The exposure time was 5 seconds long.

Image Credit:
Courtesy of E. Guido/N. Howes/Remanzacco Observatory

Image Addition Date:
2013-02-15