PIA16735: Approach of Asteroid 2012 DA14 from Samford Valley Observatory
Target Name: Asteroid
Is a satellite of: Sol (our sun)
Mission: Samford Valley Observatory
Product Size: 799 x 461 pixels (width x height)
Full-Res TIFF: PIA16735.tif (368.9 kB)
Full-Res JPEG: PIA16735.jpg (48.69 kB)

Click on image above for all movie download options

Original Caption Released with Image:

animation for PIA16735
Click on the image for the animation

This movie from the Samford Valley Observatory in Brisbane, Australia, shows the progress of asteroid 2012 DA14 across the night sky as it nears its closest approach. It was taken at 12:59 UTC on Feb. 15 (7:59 a.m. EST, or 4:59 a.m. PST). The movie has been sped up 50 times.

Image Credit:
Courtesy of J. Bradshaw

Image Addition Date:
2013-02-15