PIA13374: Deep Impact Spacecraft's First Glimpse of Comet Hartley 2
Target Name: Hartley 2
Is a satellite of: Sol (our sun)
Mission: Deep Impact
Spacecraft: Deep Impact
Instrument: Medium Resolution Instrument (MRI)
Product Size: 512 x 512 pixels (width x height)
Produced By: University of Maryland
Full-Res TIFF: PIA13374.tif (262.6 kB)
Full-Res JPEG: PIA13374.jpg (50.98 kB)

Click on the image above to download a moderately sized image in JPEG format (possibly reduced in size from original)

Original Caption Released with Image:

Click here for larger version of figure 1 for PIA13374
Click on the image for the larger version

This first image of comet 103P/Hartley 2 was taken from NASA's Deep Impact spacecraft 60 days prior to the spacecraft's flyby of the comet.

Seven successive one-minute exposures taken by the spacecraft's Medium Resolution Imager were combined to make this single image. The exposures were taken on Sept 5 beginning at about 6:30 a.m. PDT (9:30 a.m. EDT, 13:30 UTC). The comet was 60 million kilometers (37.2 million miles) from the spacecraft when the set of images were taken.

Image Credit:
NASA/JPL-Caltech/University of Maryland

Image Addition Date:
2010-09-08